Skip to content

My backpack

This is the first post about the philosophy of travelling. Hopefully, more will come in due time.

My backpack is all my life. In it I keep stored all the things that allows me to move forward.
There are clothes, light and heavy, because you can’t never predict which kind of weather you’re going to encounter tomorrow.
There are medicines, not that many, but enough to keep you alive if you encounter a bad flu.
There is a guide, but I’m using it less and less every day. Local people always know things better than any book.
There are a lot of little gadgets, like a pen, a swiss army knife, a spork (fork + spoon + knife), a water bottle, basically everything you need in a scout camp (yes, I’ve been a scout before) 🙂
There is a sleeping bag, because you’ll never know where you’re going to sleep tonight, or tomorrow…
There are a lot of electronic gadgets, because  I’m a nerd, and also because they are my tools, what I can use to help other people in a thousand different ways. A laptop (purple!), a e-book reader (knowledge is never enough), a camera (always), various memory devices, debugging tools, etc. etc.
Why I’m writing this? Because  today, like every day when I’m moving to a new place, I realized that you can’t keep your backpack the same every time you move. Different things have different priorities, and so you move them around to different places. The important ones on the top, the less important on the bottom. It’s like a constant relocation, and every time it forces you to think about your next step, keeps your mind flexible, lets you adapt over time, changing shape, color, texture, consistency. I never felt so alive in my whole life, and that’s because I’m never seeing life through the same lens twice. Every place, every culture is different, and you can’t keep your point of view static. If you do that, you’re completely missing out. The point is to let the world absorb you, destroy every single preconception you can have about the environment which surrounds you.
Only then, you can really discover yourself.
I’ve been thinking about  these words for a while, and only now I can really see what this trip is making of me… and I must say it, I’m really enjoying it! 😀
Ok, enough of it, I really hope you reached this point, and thanks for reading it all.
Until the next one…

One Comment

  1. peter wrote:

    Niiiice 🙂

    Sunday, December 23, 2012 at 18:32 | Permalink