Skip to content

Day 30/31/32/33/34 – Puebla – Oaxaca – Puebla

It’s been a while since I last updated the blog, so let’s make a quick summary:
Day 30/31: two days of Hackmitin. And I must say it, I was impressed! The feeling was the same of the firsts Italian ones, where the spirit was high and everyone tried to contribute as much as they could. Totally horizontal, assemblies every day, multiple times, to organize every detail of the organization. The talks were interesting as well, but I enjoyed much more talking with the people, or just hacking around 🙂 Well, there is so much more to write, about all the people, the hacks, the recipes, everything really! But, I don’t have too much time now, so let’s move on…
Day 32: A guy I met at the Hackmitin convinced me to go to Puebla, hitchhiking! A wonderful experience, a bit slow at the beginning (getting out of Puebla as been painful), but we met a lot of interesting/weird people on the way, and managed to arrive in Oaxaca not too late…
I found a cheap hostel, and that’s when I received the first call:
the guy I was looking for finally showed up in another hostel in Puebla, and they called me. Oh crap… Well, let’s write emails around and ask for suggestions.
Day 33: got some answers back, people asked other people around, even the police visited the hostel but they couldn’t do anything without me. In the meantime I met a friend-of-a-friend who explained to me a really cool project he’s working on. I can’t say too much now, but it’s about cellphone networks and small communities… good stuff 😀
Anyway, in the evening I got called by my friends in Puebla, telling me that I really should come back and have a chat with the guy.
Day 34: Ok, let’s go. Spent the next 4 hours in the bus station, hopped on a bus at 2.30 which left me at Puebla around 7. Another friend picked me up, we rushed to the hostel, but it was too late… The guy already left around 5.30. He sensed that something was fishy and run away. The only good feeling I got about it is the fact that he was panicking, with no money left, and probably with no way to get back home (he’s from Puerto Rico). Honestly, fuck you.
And now, here I am, sitting in the patio of a university in Puebla, writing these same words… No plan left for tomorrow, probably going back to Oaxaca to meet another friend before he leave for Europe. As always, stay tuned 😉