Skip to content

Stuck in the Monster City…

It all looked pretty easy in the beginning. Go there, get the stuff, get out. It would be quick and easy, I tought. How wrong I was… 😉
The original plan was to stay here for 3-4 days, and I’m already 9 down… Getting the equipment looked easy at the beginning, and then it got worse. The mexican attitude is:
“Sure, we’ll have it by tomorrow!”
So you go there the day after, and it goes like this: “Oh shit, they didn’t bring me what you asked!” Then they start calling random friends around, pretending to be looking for what you need. After a couple of calls, they continue: “Don’t worry, I’ll have it by tomorrow! Gimme a call at this number…”
So you write down the number, double check it (just in case), and wait.
The next day, you call the guy… and the number is disconnected 🙁 You call another 2 companies, and they either don’t have it or they can’t see it to you directly. FINE.
You go back to the first guy, who immediately recognize you and says: “Hey, I’ll have your cable by Tuesday!” WHAT? BLOODY FUCKING TUESDAY? No, I’m not going to wait for another week!
So, I’m leaving the money here, and hope that my friends are going to join me in Oaxaca in a couple of weeks, with the only piece of equipment left… 🙂
Anyway, it feels a lot like home (Italy). They also have corrupted police, a ridiculous justice system, a gazillion of different languages (we call them dialects, but it’s basically the same), and a capital city which has only one purpose: to swallow money.
Yes, it’s exactly like Italy 😀

See you, somewhere, sometimes… 😉