Skip to content

Day 15/16 – Veracruz

Yes, I’m constantly forgetting to update the blog on time 🙂 Anyway, this post is going to be for yesterday AND today, as I’m going to move to Xalapa later today.
Yesterday was a nice, sunny day. I spent most of it walking around the city, I visited the Naval Museum, which is mostly a show of force and weapons 🙁
Anyway, the best part was sitting on a bench in the Zocalo (the main square), reading a book, and ending up in a 2-hours discussion with a local theater actress! She was exuberant, talking about the history of Veracruz, the people, her job as actress and singer, basically EVERYTHING 🙂 And that’s the beauty about this place: the people can’t wait to talk with you, share, laugh, socialize. Probably that’s why I’m liking it so much, I never had an experience like that in Europe. 😛
Today I’m going up in the mountains to visit Xalapa, thanks to my friend Dora who is bringing me there. Being her home town, I’ll have to visit the entire family, her boyfriend, all her friends, etc. etc. but then again, I like it 😀
I’ll try to get some proper pics, and there is a remote possibility of going for a walk here: Pico de Orizaba (no, not on the top, don’t worry!)
P.S. Eating fish here is an experience in itself, if you’re passing by this city, DO IT! (and it’s cheap too!)